Twigg snatches Race 2 pole from Lago

Max Twigg has claimed his second Australian GT Championship pole position, edging out Roger Lago in the JBS Australia Lamborghini by just 0.02 of a second.

The top four were separated by less than two tenths of a second, with three different brands represented on the front two rows of the grid.

For Twigg (Australian Engineered Flooring Mercedes-AMG), it marked his first pole position for Mercedes, and his first since he claimed the top spot at Eastern Creek in 2010.

Geoff Emery (Valvoline Audi R8 LMS) qualified third fastest with Championship points leader Tony Bates four fastest in the Moveitnet Mercedes-AMG GT3.

Bates had an eventful session, ending it in the gravel at turn three after sliding wide.

With less than two minutes remaining in the session, the incident was covered by yellow flags but was enough to stop improving their times.

A race winner in Adelaide at Round 1, Peter Major will start out of fifth for Race 2 in the PM Motorsport Lamborghini R-EX, while Fraser Ross is the leading McLaren in sixth place for Tekno Autosports.

The top ten is rounded out by Liam Talbot (MEGA Racing Porsche 911 GT3-R), James Koundouris (Supabarn Supermarkets Audi R8 LMS), Ash Samadi (Ah Apartments Audi R8 LMS) and Nick Kelly (Industrie Audi R8 LMS).

Race 2 is scheduled for 10:45 tomorrow (March 24) with Race 1 set to get underway this afternoon at 15:40.


Pos Car Competitor/Team Driver Vehicle Q2 Time
1 8 Australian Engineered Flooring Max Twigg Mercedes-AMG GT3 1:56.786
2 23 JBS Australia Roger Lago/David Russell Lamborghini R-EX 1:56.814
3 74 Valvoline Geoff Emery/Kelvin van der Linde Audi R8 LMS 1:56.983
4 24 Moveitnet/AFS Tony Bates Mercedes-AMG GT3 1:56.985
5 14 PM Motorsport Peter Major Lamborghini R-EX 1:57.548
6 59 Tekno Autosports Fraser Ross/Lewis Williamson McLaren 650S GT3 1:57.626
7 911 MEGA Racing Liam Talbot Porsche 911 GT3-R 1:57.748
8 44 Supabarn Supermarkets James Koundouris/Ash Walsh Audi R8 LMS 1:58.127
9 3 Ah Apartments Ash Samadi Audi R8 LMS 1:58.582
10 199 Industrie Clothing Nick Kelly Audi R8 Ultra 1:58.907
11 222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor Mercedes-AMG GT3 1:59.163
12 11 Objective Racing Tony Walls McLaren 650S GT3 1:59.239
13 75 Valvoline Tim Miles Audi R8 LMS 1:59.458
14 48 Interlloy M Motorsport Yasser Shahin/Glen Wood Lamborghini R-EX 1:59.694
15 29 Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport Ryan Millier/Ivan Capelli Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1:59.992
16 9 Hallmarc Construction Marc Cini/Dean Fiore Audi R8 LMS 2:00.101
17 7 Darrell Lea Tony Quinn McLaren 650S GT3 2:00.186
18 88 Maranello Motorsport Peter Edwards Ferrari 488 GT3 2:00.213
19 100 BMW Team SRM Steve Richards/James Bergmuller BMW M6 GT3 2:00.248
20 101 DJS Racing Danny Stuttered BMW M6 GT3 2:00.809
21 21 Rosso Verde Racing Hector Lester/Benny Simonsen Ferrari 458 GT3 2:00.853
22 73 HHH Triffid Racing Michael Hovey Lamborghini R-EX 2:01.137
23 19 Hog’s Breath Café/Griffith Corporation Mark Griffith/Jake Camilleri Mercedes-AMG GT3 2:01.578
24 6 Timken Zagame Motorsport Adrian Deitz/Cameron McConville Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2:01.692
25 51 AMAC Motorsport Andrew Macpherson Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2:02.965
26 99 Fire Rating Solutions Mathew Turnbull Lamborghini Gallardo GT3 2:03.470
27 147 Mack Roofing Products Wayne Mack Ferrari 458 GT3 2:03.833
28 68 Shoal/Thomson Geer Lawyers Michael O’Donnell Porsche GT3 Cup Car 2:06.090